Return to Headlines

District 15 Schools Earn Recognition from USDA

Fifteen of District 15’s schools have been named HealthierUS School Challenge award recipients by the U.S. Department of Agriculture! District 15 schools were the only schools from Illinois selected for the award this year. 

The U.S. Department of Agriculture selected these schools for recognition based upon the exemplary steps, leadership and teamwork employed to make changes to the nutrition environment, improve the quality of the foods served and provide students with more nutritious, healthy choices. Schools receiving the award must also have a high level of participation in school breakfast and lunch programs. 

Congratulations to the Nutrition Services teams at Carl Sandburg, Central Road, Gray M. Sanborn, Jane Addams, John G. Conyers, Kimball Hill, Lake Louise, Lincoln, Stuart R. Paddock, Thomas Jefferson, Virginia Lake, Walter R. Sundling, Willow Bend, Winston Campus Elementary and Junior High for earning this recognition!