Return to Headlines

New Board of Education members sworn in to office

Two new members and one re-elected member were sworn in to the District 15 Board of Education on April 24. 

New members Samantha Ader and Wenda Hunt and returning member Zubair Khan will each serve four-year terms on the Board of Education. The group was sworn in by Cook County 13th Subcircuit Court Judge Jill Marisie.

During the meeting, the group said goodbye to outgoing David Border and Barbara Kain, noting the group's many accomplishments during its two years as a team. 

From 2017-2019 the board approved the implementation of 1:1 Chromebooks, started a new communications department, implemented a Spanish Dual Language program, among other achievements. 

Because of the board's commitment to excellent public relations and communication, they have been given the 2019 Award of Excellence in Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association's Distinguished Service Awards. The awards ceremony takes place in May. 

Pictured below from left to right: Samantha Ader, Michael Smolka, Anthony Wang (secretary), Lisa Szczupaj (president), Frank Annerino (vice president), Zubair Khan, Wenda Hunt

Board of Education