About Student Services

  • Bullying / Safety Tip Line
  • Equal Education Opportunities
  • Health & Wellness
  • Homeless Students
  • Parent Resources
  • Preschool
  • Sexual Harassment & Grievance Procedure
  • Special Education & Disability Services
  • Student & Family Privacy
  • Student Absences
  • Student Behavior & Discipline
  • Student Records
  • Student Registration
  • Work Permits for Minors
  • Assistive classroom

    The Student Services Department for Palatine CCSD15 coordinates supportive services for three-year-old through eighth-grade students in the District. Children with disabilities and specialized learning needs, identified through either evaluation and eligibility procedures, may access supports and services in school. These services include:

    • Special Education/Individualized Education Programs (IEP)
    • Section 504 Plans
    • Health Services
    • Enrollment and Student Records Management
    • Supports for students in foster care placements
    • McKinney-Vento supports for students experiencing homelessness

    The Student Services Department currently provides special education programs and services for children in compliance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and the Illinois Administrative Code. Special Education programs serve students with academic, communication, cognitive and physical disabilities as well as autism spectrum disorders, social/emotional/behavioral disorders, health impairments, and visual or hearing disabilities. Section 504 Plans are developed for students with disabilities, including health conditions, which require accommodations within the school environment.

    School Health Services, provided by registered school nurses at each school, support students through prompt and professional response to health concerns and medical issues. The school nurse not only responds to illnesses, accidents or medical emergencies but may also provide regular care to students as outlined in an IEP or 504 Plan. Additionally, school nurses conduct vision and hearing screenings, manage student health records, and collaborate with school staff to promote learning through student health and wellness.

    Students experiencing homelessness and those living in foster care placements are protected by federal and state laws in order to ensure continuity and consistency in their education. Services such as academic intervention, counseling, special transportation and/or consultation with community agencies are provided by the District, with an emphasis on removing barriers that may interfere with a child’s education.

Contact Us

  • Assistant Superintendent of Student Services
    Mindy McGuffin, EdD
    Phone: 847-963-3149
    Email: mcguffim@ccsd15.net 

    Director of Student Services
    Tracey Wrobel
    Phone: 847-963-3152
    Email: wrobelt@ccsd15.net

    Assistant Director of Student Services
    Verna Neumann, EdD
    Phone: 847-963-3157
    Email: neumannv@ccsd15.net 

    Records Specialist
    Sharon Lewis
    Phone: 847-963-3167
    Email: lewiss@ccsd15.net

    Records Secretary
    Erin Carp
    Phone: 847-963-3150
    Email: carpe@ccsd15.net

    Reporting Secretary
    Justyna Socha
    Phone: 847-963-3154
    Email: sochaj@ccsd15.net     

    Secretary
    Dilnaaz Rustomji
    Phone: 847-963-3158
    Email: rustomjd@ccsd15.net 

    Special Education Coordinators

    Anthony DeFeo
    Phone: 847-963-7866/5879
    Email: defeoa@ccsd15.net 
    Carl Sandburg Jr High • Stuart R. Paddock

    Kelley Dettloff
    Phone: 847-963-5241/7318
    Email: dettlofk@ccsd15.net
    Kimball Hill • Willow Bend

    Suzanne Etherton
    Phone: 847-963-7122/3738
    Email: ethertos@ccsd15.net 
    Virginia Lake • Walter R Sundling Jr High

    Kayla Fleming
    Phone: 847-963-5511
    Email: flemingk@ccsd15.net
    Marion Jordan

    Olivia Gentile
    Phone: 847-963-5770
    Email: gentileo@ccsd15.net 
    Lincoln

    Alysha Gillani
    Phone: 847-963-3426
    Email: gillania@ccsd15.net
    Conyers Learning Academy

    Elise Hackl-Blumstein
    Phone: 847-963-5007/7644
    Email: hackle@ccsd15.net
    Jane Addams • Plum Grove Jr High

    Laura Heavey
    Phone: 847-963-7420
    Email: heaveyl@ccsd15.net 
    Winston Campus Elementary • Winston Campus Jr High

    Kimberly Johnson
    Phone: 847-963-5320/5419
    Email: johnsok2@ccsd15.net
    Hunting Ridge • Thomas Jefferson

    Jamie Levin
    Phone: 847-963-7215
    Email: levinj@ccsd15.net 
    Frank C Whiteley

    Kelly Szafranski
    Phone: 847-963-7019/5907
    Email: szafrank@ccsd15.net 
    Gray M Sanborn • Pleasant Hill

    Chad Ziarko
    Phone: 847-963-5104/5616
    Email: ziarkoc@ccsd15.net 
    Central Road • Lake Louise